ACMs 2021: Maren Morris, Chris Stapleton and Miranda Lambert Lead History-Making Nominations

Getty images (3) Maren Morris; Chris Stapleton; Miranda Lambert

Now this is a historic Academy of Country Music Awards nominations list.

On Friday, Kelsea Ballerini and Brothers Osborne helped announce some of the nominees for this year’s ACM Awards on CBS This Morning.

Leading the list are Maren Morris and Chris Stapleton with six nominations each. Trailing closely behind is Miranda Lambert with five nominations and Ashley McBryde and Thomas Rhett with four nods each.

Making history this year, four Black artists are nominated for awards: Jimmie Allen, Kane Brown, Mickey Guyton and John Legend, who’s a first-time nominee. Also for the first time, every nominated song for single of the year features a woman.

John Shearer/Getty;Jason Kempin/Getty; Kevin Mazur/Getty Jimmie Allen; Mickey Guyton; Kane Brown

RELATED: The ACM Awards Return to Nashville for 2021 Show and Will Again Air from Three Iconic Locations

Want to get the biggest stories from PEOPLE every weekday? Subscribe to our new podcast, PEOPLE Every Day, to get the essential celebrity, entertainment and human interest news stories Monday through Friday.

Up for the most-coveted entertainer of the year award are standouts Stapleton, Thomas Rhett, Luke Bryan, Eric Church and Luke Combs. (Carrie Underwood and Thomas Rhett shared the 2020 title.)

Notably absent from the nominations list is Morgan Wallen, whose eligibility was halted earlier this month after using a racial slur.

Entertainer of the Year

  • Luke Bryan

  • Eric Church

  • Luke Combs

  • Thomas Rhett

  • Chris Stapleton

Female Artist of the Year

  • Kelsea Ballerini

  • Miranda Lambert

  • Ashley McBryde

  • Maren Morris

  • Carly Pearce

Male Artist of the Year

  • Dierks Bentley

  • Eric Church

  • Luke Combs

  • Thomas Rhett

  • Chris Stapleton

Duo of the Year

  • Brooks & Dunn

  • Brothers Osborne

  • Dan + Shay

  • Florida Georgia Line

  • Maddie & Tae

Group of the Year

  • Lady A

  • Little Big Town

  • Old Dominion

  • The Cadillac Three

  • The Highwomen

New Female Artist of the Year

  • Ingrid Andress

  • Tenille Arts

  • Gabby Barrett

  • Mickey Guyton

  • Caylee Hammack

New Male Artist of the Year

  • Jimmie Allen

  • Travis Denning


  • Cody Johnson

  • Parker McCollum

Album of the Year

Single of the Year

Song of the Year

Video of the Year

Songwriter of the Year

  • Ashley Gorley

  • Michael Hardy

  • Hillary Lindsey

  • Shane McAnally

  • Josh Osborne

Music Event of the Year

  • “Be a Light” – Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban

The show is set to air live from the Grand Ole Opry, the Ryman Auditorium and The Bluebird Cafe on Sunday, April 18 at 8 p.m. ET on CBS.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button