China sanctions British individuals entities

Image Source : AP

China announces sanctions on British individuals, entities

China on Friday announced sanctions on relevant British individuals and entities. According to a statement by a Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesperson, the UK imposed unilateral sanctions on relevant Chinese individuals and entity, citing the so-called human rights issues in Xinjiang, Xinhua news agency reported.

“This move, based on nothing but lies and disinformation, flagrantly breaches international law and basic norms governing international relations, grossly interferes in China’s internal affairs, and severely undermines China-UK relations,” said the statement.

The Chinese Foreign Ministry has summoned British Ambassador to China to lodge solemn representations, expressing firm opposition and strong condemnation.

The Chinese side decides to sanction the following nine individuals and four entities on the UK side that maliciously spread lies and disinformation: Tom Tugendhat, Iain Duncan Smith, Neil O’Brien, David Alton, Tim Loughton, Nusrat Ghani, Helena Kennedy, Geoffrey Nice, Joanne Nicola Smith Finley, China Research Group, Conservative Party Human Rights Commission, Uyghur Tribunal, and Essex Court Chambers.

“As of today, the individuals concerned and their immediate family members are prohibited from entering the mainland, Hong Kong and Macao of China. Their property in China will be frozen, and Chinese citizens and institutions will be prohibited from doing business with them. China reserves the right to take further measures,” said the statement.

China is firmly determined to safeguard its national sovereignty, security, and development interests, and warns the UK side not to go further down the wrong path. Otherwise, China will resolutely make further reactions, said the statement.

ALSO READ | Boris Johnson to visit India in April to ‘create democratic counterweight to China’

Latest World News

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button