Trending News

David Ellefson and Megadeth have parted ways

Megadeth has revealed that bassist David Ellefson is no longer with the band. Dave Mustaine, the band's frontman, issued the following statement today:

Megadeth has revealed that bassist David Ellefson is no longer with the band.

Dave Mustaine, the band’s frontman, issued the following statement today:

“We’d like to let our fans know that David Ellefson is no longer a member of Megadeth, and we’ve formally parted ways with him. This is a serious decision for us.

While we don’t know every detail of what happened, with an already tense relationship, what has already been exposed makes future collaboration unlikely.

We’re excited to see our fans on the road this summer, and we can’t wait to share our brand new music with the rest of the globe. It’s almost finished.

Dave Mustaine
Megadeth
May 24th, 2021

Ellefson’s sexually explicit movies were shared to Twitter earlier this month, in case you missed it. The tapes were allegedly recorded by a fan in 2020, and the recordings sparked suspicions of child grooming at the time. Later, both Ellefson and the other participant involved disputed the allegations, claiming that it was consenting adult behaviour.
“As you may or may not know, some private and intimate discussions and exchanges have appeared online, leaked with ill purpose by a third party who was not authorised to have them or share them,” Ellefson stated in a no longer publicly accessible social media statement. While it is undoubtedly humiliating, I want to confront it as openly and honestly as possible.

“As much as it’s not something I’m proud of, these were private, adult exchanges that were taken out of context and distorted to cause maximum damage to my reputation, job, and family,” Ellefson continued. The opposite side has issued a statement, which can be found below. I appreciate her doing so, and I hope this explains that the situation was not as it appeared.”

“Those video calls did happen, but I was the one who initiated them, and I was never underage; I was always a consenting adult,” the woman added. Before that, nothing untoward had occurred. It was all voluntary; I’m not a victim, and I’m not being groomed in any way because I initiated it.

Megadeth indicated in a social media post on May 10th that they were aware of recent statements involving Ellefson and that they were actively monitoring developments.

Megadeth is gearing up for a rescheduled North American tour in 2021 with Lamb of God, Trivium, and In Flames. All of the shows are listed here.

Fri Aug 20 – Austin, TX – Germania Insurance Amphitheater
Sat Aug 21 – Irving, TX – The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory
Sun Aug 22 – Woodlands, TX – The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion presented by Huntsman
Tue Aug 24 – El Paso, TX – Don Haskins Center
Wed Aug 25 – Albuquerque, NM – Isleta Amphitheater
Fri Aug 27 – Denver, CO – Ball Arena
Sun Aug 29 – Phoenix, AZ – Arizona Federal Theatre
Tue Aug 31 – Reno, NV – Reno Events Center
Wed Sep 01 – Irvine, CA – FivePoint Amphitheatre
Thu Sep 02 – Concord, CA – Concord Pavilion
Sat Sep 04 – Portland, OR – Moda Center
Sun Sep 05 – Auburn, WA – White River Amphitheatre
Thu Sep 09 – Tinley Park, IL – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre – Chicago
Sat Sep 11 – Danville, VA – Blue Ridge Festival*
Sun Sep 12 – Wantagh, NY – Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Mon Sep 13 – Boston, MA – Leader Bank Pavilion
Wed Sep 15 – Camden, NJ – BB&T Pavilion
Thu Sep 16 – Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts Center
Sat Sep 18 – Noblesville, IN – Ruoff Music Center
Sun Sep 19 – Clarkston, MI – DTE Energy Music Theatre
Mon Sep 20 – Cincinnati, OH – PNC Pavilion
Wed Sep 22 – Rogers, AR – Walmart AMP
Fri Sep 24 – Mount Pleasant, MI – Soaring Eagle Casino Amphitheatre
Sun Sep 26 – St. Louis, MO – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre – St. Louis
Tue Sep 28 – Minneapolis, MN – Armory
Thu Sep 30 – Toronto, ON – Budweiser Stage
Fri Oct 01 – Laval, QC – Place Bell
Sat Oct 02 – Quebec City, QC – Centre Videotron
*Festival Date featuring all 4 bands

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button