Helio Castroneves wins his record-tying fourth Indy 500

Helio Castroneves joins the elite company of A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser as the Indy 500’s only four-time winners.

Castroneves passed Alex Palou late and barely held on at the yard of bricks for the win.

At 46, Castroneves, who doesn’t have an IndyCar Series ride this season, is one of the oldest winners of the 500 in the race’s history. Al Unser was just shy of 48 when he won in 1987. 

“I only ran two races and I won two races. I think I still got it, don’t you think?” Castroneves said from Victory Circle. 

Helio Castroneves celebrates after winning the 105th Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Castroneves, who last drove full-time in the NTT IndyCar Series in 2017, scored a deal with Meyer Shank Racing to drive the No. 06 Honda in Sunday’s race.

He qualified eighth and raced among the leaders from the drop of the green flag.

Castroneves, 46, previously won “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing in 2001, ’02 and 2009.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button