Indian women’s team to play maiden pink ball Test in Australia later this year

The Indian women’s cricket team will compete in its maiden day-night Test from September 30 to October 3 when it tours Australia this year.

The match will be played in Perth, which hasn’t hosted a day-night game as yet, Cricket Australia said after BCCI secretary Jay Shah Shah made the initial announcement.


India last played a Test against Australia in 2006. It will also play ODI and T20 International matches Down Under.

ALSO READ | Shafali Verma makes it to Grade B in BCCI annual contracts

The pink ball Test between India and Australia will be only the second such match to be held in the history of women’s cricket.

Preparing for both the England and Australia Test will be a challenge since the women don’t play with red ball even on the domestic circuit.

“It will be a challenge for sure but the good thing is that women are getting to play Tests,” a former India player said.

“The pink ball game in Australia will be a tougher challenge as the girls have never played with that ball but I am sure they will get to prepare well for it. A few practice games will also be needed,” she added.

ALSO READ | Difficult to play T20 World Cup in India this year, says Hussey

England and Australia are the only two teams which regularly play Test cricket, mainly against each other in the Women’s Ashes.

Going forward, India will also be seen playing the longest format against the two teams.

“As players, we’ve said for a long time that we’d love to play more Test matches,” Australia captain Meg Lanning said on Wednesday.

“It’s an exciting prospect and I know (India) are heading over to England to play a Test match pretty soon so it shows they’re up for the challenge and really willing to play that format.”


September 19: First ODI, North Sydney Oval (D/N)

September 22: Second ODI, Junction Oval

September 24: Third ODI, Junction Oval

September 30 – October 3: Day/Night Test match, WACA Ground, Perth

October 7: First T20, North Sydney Oval

October 9: Second T20, North Sydney Oval

October 11: Third T20, North Sydney Oval.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button