Pipili election result BJD Rudra Pratap Maharathy wins Odisha latest updates

Image Source : TWITTER/@ANI

BJD candidate Rudra Pratap Maharathy wins Pipili by-poll by over 20,000 votes

Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidate Rudra Pratap Maharathy has on Sunday won the Pipili Assembly by-poll with a margin of 20,916 votes against his nearest rival Ashrit Pattnaik of the BJP, said the Election Commission. 

Maharathy secured 96,972 votes, while Ashrit Pattnaik of the BJP bagged 76,056 votes. Congress nominee Bishwokeshan Harichandan Mohapatra got 4,261 votes, the EC said. Ten candidates were in the fray for the by-poll, which was necessitated by the death of sitting BJD MLA Pradeep Maharathy in October last year. 

ALSO READ | Odisha bypolls: BJD continues to lead in both assembly seats

ALSO READ | BJD MPs meet Amit Shah, demand caste based census


Latest India News

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button