Trending News

Start time, lineup, TV, streaming schedule, and more for the 105th edition of the Indianapolis 500 in 2021

After the 2020 Indianapolis 500 was relocated to August due to the COVID-19 epidemic, the race will return to its rightful spot on the schedule – the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend.

After the 2020 Indianapolis 500 was relocated to August due to the COVID-19 epidemic, the race will return to its rightful spot on the schedule – the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend.

And the crowd will return to Indianapolis Motor Speedway for “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing,” though not in full force.

This year’s event has a 40 percent capacity, which means up to 135,000 fans can attend, according to Penske Entertainment Corp. and Marion County (Indiana) public health officials. While it will be significantly smaller than pre-pandemic attendance — IMS typically holds 300,000 people on race day — Sunday will still be the greatest crowd at a sporting event since the coronavirus began.

Here’s all you need to know about the 2021 Indianapolis 500, which will take place on Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway:
STARTING TIME: 1:00 p.m. ET. 12:45 p.m. ET GREEN FLAG

NBC is on the air. The pre-race show starts at 11 a.m. ET. Beginning at 9 a.m. ET, NBCSN will broadcast pre-race coverage.

RADIO: SiriusXM channel 205 and the IndyCar Radio Network. (must have TV provider) and the NBC Sports app are available for streaming.


JENKINS:The legendary Indy 500 announcer may be forced to withdraw from the race due to his battle with brain cancer.

WINNING DRINK: Each driver’s favourite celebratory milk for the 2021 Indianapolis 500

DANICA:Patrick will drive the Corvette pace car in the 2021 Indianapolis 500.

RACE DISTANCE: A total of 500 miles is covered by 200 laps around the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

LAST TIME: On August 23, 2020, Takuma Sato led 27 laps, including the final 16, before winning under yellow. Sato, who won the Indy 500 in 2017, fought off Scott Dixon, who led the race for a total of 111 laps.
QUALIFYING: Scott Dixon, a six-time IndyCar Series champion, took the pole in Fast Nine qualifying a week ago. Dixon won the 2008 Indy 500 from the pole for the fourth time in his career.

DIXON: Talks about capturing the pole for the Indy 500, driving at 240 mph, and his terrifying 2017 collision.

LINEUP: Thirty-three cars qualified and made the field after surviving Bump Day. The following is the starting lineup for the 105th Indianapolis 500.

1. Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

2. Colton Herta, Andretti Autosport with Curb-Agajanian, Honda

3. Rinus VeeKay, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

4. Ed Carpenter, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

5. Tony Kanaan, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

6. Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

7. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport, Honda

8. Helio Castroneves, Meyer Shank Racing, Honda

9. Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

10. Alexander Rossi, Andretti Autosport, Honda

11. Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan

12. Pato O’Ward, Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan

13. Pietro Fittipaldi, Dale Coye Racing with Rick Ware Racing, Honda

14. Felix Rosenqvist, Arrow McLaren SP, Chevrolet

15. Takuma Sato, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

16. James Hinchcliffe, Andretti Autosport, Honda

17. Scott McLaughlin, Team Penske, Chevrolet

18. Graham Rahal, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

19. Conor Daly, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

20. Jack Harvey, Meyer Shank Racing, Honda

21. Josef Newgarden, Team Penske, Chevrolet

22. JR Hildebrand, A.J. Foyt Racing, Chevrolet

23. Santino Ferrucci, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

24. Juan Pablo Montoya, Arrow McLaren SP, Chevrolet

25. Marco Andretti, Andretti Herta-Haupert with Marco and Curb-Agajanian, Honda

26. Simon Pagenaud, Team Penske, Chevrolet

27. Sebastien Bourdais, A.J. Foyt Racing, Chevrolet

28. Stefan Wilson, Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport, Honda

29. Max Chilton, Carlin, Chevrolet

30. Dalton Kellett, A.J. Foyt Racing, Chevrolet

31. Sage Karam, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, Chevrolet

32. Will Power, Team Penske, Chevrolet

33. Simona de Silverstro, Paretta Autosport, Chevrolet


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button